Spanish English

Enhorabuena Luis Álvarez Cervera entrenador del salto de los completistas neocelandeses. Así  Jonelle / CLASSIC MOET ganando y sin falta en la pista, Mark Todd /KILTUBRID RHAPSODY 6º y asimismo sin falta...





Price takes the riches

Jonelle Price became the first female winner of the Mitsubishi Motors Badminton Horse Trials in over a decade when she sealed victory in today’s final showjumping phase with an immaculate showjumping clear on Classic Moet.

The New Zealander and Trisha Rickard’s feisty little black mare have been the epitome of cool all week and they won the title in the traditional way, climbing up the leaderboard from 22nd after dressage with two faultless, fast jumping performances.

“Being a CCI4* winner is an elite club to join and it’s been something that has eluded me for a while now, so to now join it – especially here at the Mitsubishi Motors Badminton Horse Trials – is very, very special,” said Jonelle, for whom this was a remarkable comeback having given birth to her son, Otis, less than 10 months ago.

Oliver Townend and Ballaghmor Class, lying second overnight, lowered two rails to drop from to fifth, but the Yorkshireman already had a clear round in the bag with his other top-five contender, Cooley SRS, who had gone out of order earlier on, and this proved good enough to ensure he kept second spot anyway.

“If you’d have told me I’d have two horses in the top five at the end of this week I’d be very, very happy,” said Oliver. “I’ve had to fight harder than I’ve fought before and it didn’t always look like I wanted it to look, but both horses have come out of it feeling very good.”

Ros Canter, who has once again proved her star quality this week, lowered one rail on Allstar B to finish the competition in the same place she had occupied for most of the week – third.

“I was a bit nervous going into the showjumping today because he felt quieter than usual in the warm-up and that rattled me,” she said. “But our round got better and better as we went on.”

Gemma Tattersall and Arctic Soul produced another double jumping clear – their third here in a row – to finish fourth, while the oldest rider in the field, Mark Todd, 62, lowered one rail on Kiltubrid Rhapsody to wind up in sixth.

Our remaining first timers finished:
Padraig McCarthy (IRL) & Mr Chunky, 3 penalties ~ 8th
Carlos Diaz Fernandez, Junco CP, 26 penalties ~ 32nd
Virginia Thompson & Star Nouveau, 22 penalties ~ 40th
Kate Honey & Fernhill Now Or Never, 25 penalties ~ 42nd
Will Furlong & Collien P2, 15 penalties ~ 43rd
Ashley Edmond & Triple Chance, 22 penalties ~ 44th
Imogen Gloag & Brendonhill Doublet, 14 penalties ~ 47th
Kirsty Short & Cossan Lad, 9 penalties ~ 48th
Alicia Hawker & Charles RR, 12 penalties – 49th
Georgie Strang & Cooley Earl, 7 penalties ~ 50th
Alan Nolan & Bronze Flight, 32 penalties ~ 52nd

Additional Prizes

Butler Bowl ~ for the best British rider: Oliver Townend

Laurence Rook Trophy ~ best British rider not previously completed Badminton: Tom Crisp & Coolys Luxury

Worshipful Company of Saddlers saddle ~ Rider with the best score who is under 25 on 1/1/19 and who has not previously won a Company saddle in the calendar year: Will Furlong on Collien P

Silver Jubilee Plate ~ best Owner/Rider: James Sommerville & Talent

Glentrool Trophy ~ Horse & Rider who have made greatest improvement on their dressage placing:  Imogen Murray & Ivar Gooden

Frank Weldon Memorial Trophy ~ Rider of youngest British owned and ridden horse in top 12: Oliver Townend for the 11-year-old Cooley SRS

Cotswold Life Trophy ~ Local rider’s trophy: Tom McEwan & Toledo de Kerser

The William Miflin Memorial Trophy ~ To the rider of the horse with no cross-country jumping penalties and closest optimum time: Jonelle Price on Classic Moet

Sport Horse Breeding of Great Britain ~ Owner of the best horse sired by a SHB (GB) Graded Stallion or Premium Stallion, provided it is in top 12: Angela Hislop and Oliver  Townend for Cooley SRS

Retraining of Racehorses £1000 ~ The highest placed former racehorse which must have been raced under the rules of a recognised racing authority worldwide: Arctic Soul

Farriers Prize ~ plaque to the owner and farrier of the best shod horse: Arctic Soul & The Soul Syndictae, farrier Jimmy Cooper from East Sussex

Stud Voucher £500 ~ owner of the highest placed British owned mare: Trisha Rickards & Jonelle Price for Classic Moet

Mark Holliday Memorial Trophy ~ Groom of winner: Holly Fitzgerald, groom of Jonelle Price’s Classic Moet

David Beaufort Memorial Trophy ~ to the person who has contributed to the running of the Horse Trials over many years: Alan Willis

The British Horse Foundation £1000 ~ to the Breeder of the highest placed British Bred horse, provided it finishes in the top 12 places

Embryo Transfer ~ to the highest placed British bred or domiciled mare to be in the top 20%, courtesy of Tomlinson Equine: Classic Moet

Breeder of the winner ~ Elaine Hepworth for  Classic Moet

Armada Dishes:

Sarah Bullimore, Tina Cook, Dan Jocelyn (NZL), Austin O’Connor (IRL), Tim Price (NZL), Beanie Sturgis, Jean Teulere (FRA), Oliver Townend.

An additional Armada Dish was also presented to Willa Harford, mainstay of the Badminton Office for many years, who retired last autumn.

 ★ Empresas colaboradoras ★